EDI courses

What is ANSI (American National Standards Institute) format?

ANSI (American National Standards Institute) format refers to a set of standards developed by ANSI for various industries to ensure compatibility, interoperability, and uniformity in data exchange and communication. ANSI standards cover a wide range of fields including technology, telecommunications, healthcare, manufacturing, and more.

In the context of data interchange, ANSI formats often refer to the structured formats used for electronic data interchange (EDI) in industries such as healthcare, retail, finance, and transportation. These formats define the syntax, data elements, segments, and envelopes used to exchange business documents electronically between trading partners.

For example, ANSI X12 is a widely used standard for electronic data interchange in North America. ANSI X12 defines various transaction sets for different business processes such as purchase orders, invoices, shipping notices, and healthcare claims. Each transaction set is defined by a unique number and contains specific segments and data elements arranged in a predefined format.

Other examples of ANSI formats include ASC X9 for financial services, ASC X9.24 for retail financial services, and ASC X9.100-187 for secure cryptographic devices and systems.

Overall, ANSI formats play a crucial role in facilitating electronic data interchange and ensuring seamless communication and interoperability between different systems and organizations within and across industries.

To learn more about EDI and become a CEDIAP® (Certified EDI Academy Professional), please visit our course schedule page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Post Navigation